A diamond’s beauty, rarity, and value is determined by its color, clarity, carat weight, and cut, known as the 4Cs. The first three elements are determined by nature, but it is the remarkable skills of Kwiat’s master craftspeople that define the diamond’s cut.

Every stone we select must meet the strict standards we’ve set over the past century. Only the finest rough diamond crystals, with a high color and clarity grade, will do. Stones are cut with precision and care to unlock the brilliance within.

Diamond Cut

Cut is by far the most important character of a diamond. Even at the best color and clarity grades, a poorly cut stone will appear dull and lifeless, while a well-cut stone will sparkle beautifully. Three factors contribute to a diamond’s brilliance: brightness, fire, and scintillation. To achieve these factors, the Gemological Institute of America, the world’s premier diamond grading nonprofit, released formulas with combinations for crafting the most brilliant round diamonds.

Selecting a diamond with a cut grade of anything less than Excellent on the GIA scale is a mistake. To understand the 4Cs and their relation to cut is to understand why you should never settle for less than perfection.

At Kwiat, we understand that cut is the most important “C.” It is why our standards for cutting a diamond are the strictest in the world. All Kwiat round diamonds receive GIA grades of Excellent but not Excellent diamond is good enough to become a Kwiat diamond. Our diamonds fall within a smaller subset of GIA Excellent diamonds to capture the beauty and brilliance of how a diamond should appear. We call this the Kwiat Tiara® Cut.


Diamond Color

Color refers to the presence of yellow visible within a diamond. As a diamond forms underground, nitrogen molecules enter the carbon structure, giving it a yellowish tint. The more nitrogen within a diamond, the more yellow it will appear.

Color is measured on the GIA color scale beginning at D with Colorless and going through Z, which indicates Light Yellow, a very noticeable color. The difference between one grade and the next on the scale is visually minimal. Select a diamond that is in the Colorless or the Near Colorless range for the best value, keeping in mind that diamond shape and the setting can affect the way the color is seen.

At Kwiat, we adhere to the strictest standards and only select diamonds in the Colorless or Nearly Colorless range. Our round brilliant diamonds are in the D through J color grade range and fancy shape diamonds are in the D through I range.


Diamond Clarity

Clarity refers to the number of inclusions, if any, within a diamond. Almost all diamonds contain some sort of natural inclusion. They occur when there is a disturbance in the process of a diamond’s formation over millions of years.

The GIA clarity scale rates diamonds from Flawless to Included (heavy inclusions). Flawless diamonds are crystal clear inside and out, without any inclusions, and are super rare. At the other end of the range is Included-3, with imperfections that are visible to the naked eye.

Some shapes such as Asscher and emerald cuts, show inclusions rather easily and should have a higher clarity grade. Brilliant cuts such as the round and marquise can have lower grades since they show fewer inclusions.

At Kwiat, our strict standards only allow for diamonds that appear visually clean to the unaided eye. We only select Flawless to Very Slightly Included, with the rare exception of Slightly Included, when the inclusion is not visible to the naked eye. Balance clarity with color and carat to find what works for you.


Diamond Carat

Kwiat Tiara® Cut Diamonds

A diamond’s cut is its most important attribute. Over the years, we have refined our craftsmanship to an art form and created the most beautifully cut round diamond in the world. Every Kwiat Tiara® Cut Diamond appears larger than other diamonds of the same carat weight, while emphasizing maximum brilliance.

Of the 4Cs of diamonds, carat weight is the most objective and easiest to understand. Quite simply, it refers to the weight of the diamond as measured in carats—the scale used for gemstones. A larger carat diamond may not necessarily look bigger if it receives a poor cut. A larger carat weight is only worth its price if its greater size adds to the beauty and visual size appearance of the stone.

At Kwiat, we cut diamonds for their beauty, not their weight. We assess a stone’s potential and work to find the ideal balance between carat weight and brilliance. Our craftspeople have mastered the art of cutting a diamond to appear bigger than its actual size, maximizing each stone’s beauty.