What are the 4Cs?

The search for a diamond engagement ring can be intimidating. You will want to know the ins and outs of what you are buying, and will have no doubt heard about the 4C’s.  So, what are the 4Cs of diamonds? These are the four most important metrics—carat weight, color, clarity, and cut—that determine a diamond’s value, quality, and rarity.

We’ve detailed each of the 4Cs more thoroughly here to help you get a better understand of their meaning.

Diamond Education, what are the 4Cs of diamonds

What Are The 4Cs Of Diamonds?

Though they are not the only determining factors, the 4Cs are the primary framework for understanding quality in diamonds. They were developed by the Gemological Institute of America (GIA), the foremost authority on precious gemstones, and are used worldwide by industry professionals and customers alike. As we mentioned above, the 4Cs comprise carat weight, color, clarity, and cut.

Because each factor interacts with the others, the 4Cs must be examined all together rather than individually in order to understand the true picture of a diamond’s worth.

Carat Weight

Carat weight refers to the physical measure of a diamond’s weight on a scale. This usually correlates to the diamond’s size, so a heavier carat weight will generally indicate a larger size. Of the 4Cs, diamond carat weight is the most straightforward and easiest to understand.

However, diamonds of a higher carat weight do not always appear larger to the eye than diamonds of a lower carat weight. This can be due to nuances in the diamond cutting process and the shape of the diamond.


White diamonds contain small traces of color within their crystal structure, usually tints of yellow or brown. Diamond color is graded by the GIA from D (Colorless) to Z (Light). The less tint a diamond has, the more valuable it will be.


Clarity accounts for inclusions and blemishes in the diamond’s crystal structure. Of the 4Cs, clarity is the most difficult to detect without the aid of magnification. The GIA grades clarity on a scale from Flawless (FL) to Included (I3). The fewer inclusions the diamond has, the more valuable it will be.



Cut refers to the proportions, angles, and faceting that define a diamond. Diamonds are cut by expert tradespeople who follow design guidelines intended to enhance the diamond’s ability to reflect and refract light. Cut is what gives a diamond its brilliance, sparkle, and overall beauty.

“Cut” and “shape” are not interchangeable terms. Shape describes the outline and external form of a diamond, not it’s faceting. Round brilliant is the only shape that is graded for cut by the GIA, and the scale ranges from Excellent to Poor.

Our Advice About The 4Cs of Diamonds

Each of the 4Cs affects value. Buying a diamond requires finding the right balance between the various elements of quality, along with considering your personal budget.

At Kwiat, we believe that cut is the most important of the 4Cs and we advise our customers not to compromise on the quality of a diamond’s cut. A beautifully cut diamond is bright and brilliant, while a poorly cut diamond is dull and lifeless even if it has the ideal color, clarity, and carat weight.

All Kwiat diamonds are cut to the highest standards in the world, assuring maximum brilliance, beauty, and size appearance. This is our promise to you.

Other Important Considerations

We feel that carat weight is a personal choice based on taste preference and budget. There is no correct or incorrect size for a diamond engagement ring.

Between color and clarity, we tend to recommend prioritizing color over clarity. This is because Kwiat does not offer diamonds with inclusions visible to the unassisted eye. While inclusions can only be detected with 10x magnification, a diamond’s color is very evident to the naked eye.

Finding the right balance between the 4Cs also depends on the shape of the diamond. Certain shapes have a different recommended color and clarity range based on their cutting style. For example, shapes such as emerald and Asscher are cut to showcase clarity. Others like radiant and cushion display color more precisely. Round brilliant diamonds conceal both lower color and lower clarity grades without losing their visual impact.